TRAFFORD COUNCIL

Report to:	Executive
Date:	25 June 2018
Report for:	Decision
Report of:	Chief Executive

Report Title

APPOINTMENTS MADE BY THE EXECUTIVE TO OUTSIDE, INDEPENDENT AND EXECUTIVE BODIES

Summary

To agree the appointment of representatives to those bodies whose activities relate to Executive functions.

Recommendation(s)

- 1. That approval be given to the appointment of representatives to those outside, independent and Executive bodies set out in the Appendix to this report.
- 2. That the Chief Executive be delegated authority, in consultation with the Leader of the Council and Opposition Group Leader(s) if necessary, to appoint members to any vacancy that remains or arises after the meeting and to any additional bodies to which the Executive may be required to make appointment(s).

Contact person for access to background papers and further information:

Name:Ian CockillExtension:1387

Background Papers: None.

TRAFFORD BOROUGH COUNCIL

REPRESENTATIVES ON OUTSIDE, INDEPENDENT AND EXECUTIVE BODIES

PERSONS NOMINATED – 2018/19

APPOINTMENTS MADE BY THE EXECUTIVE

Organisation		Number of Representatives		2018/19 Nominations
		Required LA	B:CON:LD:GRN	Councillor(s)
1	Age UK (Trafford)	2	2:0:0:0	Joanne Harding Kevin Procter
2	Altrincham and Sale Chamber of Commerce	1 (plus 1 Deputy)	1:0:0:0	Amy Whyte Deputy: Denise Western
3	Assets of Community Value	Pool of 12 Panel comprises 7 Members (4:2:1:0)	7:4:1:0	Anne Duffield Mike Freeman David Jarman Ejaz Malik Liz Patel Simon Thomas Amy Whyte Rob Chilton Mrs. Laura Evans Brian Rigby Michael Whetton Ray Bowker
4	Bollin Valley Scheme Steering Committee	2 (plus 2 Deputies)	2:0:0:0	Aidan Williams Steven Longden Deputies: Vacant
5	Bridgewater Canal Trust	1	1:0:0:0	Barry Brotherton
6	Citizens' Advice Trafford	1	1:0:0:0	James Wright
7	Early Years Strategic Board	3	2:1:0:0	Jane Baugh Mike Freeman Michael Whetton
8	Greater Manchester Accessible Transport Ltd. – Ring and Ride Steering Group	1	1:0:0:0	James Wright
9	Greater Manchester Forests Partnership	2 Executive Member(s) for Planning and Environment	2:0:0:0	Steve Adshead James Wright
10	Groundwork, Manchester, Salford, Stockport, Tameside and Trafford	1 local authority Nominated Trustee	1:0:0:0	Sophie Taylor
		plus		
		1 Company member	1:0:0:0	Mike Cordingley

Organisation		Number of Representatives		2018/19 Nominations
		Required LAB:CON:LD:GRN		Councillor(s)
11	Investment Management Board	4	2:1:1:0	Andrew Western James Wright Sean Anstee Ray Bowker
12	Larkhill Centre Community Association – General Committee	1	Agreed 0:0:1:0	Ray Bowker
13	Local Government Association Founder Members Mutual Member	1	1:0:0:0	Mike Cordingley
14	Local Strategic Partnership	2 (plus Chief Executive)	2:0:0:0	Andrew Western Catherine Hynes
15	Manchester Airport Consultative Committee	3 (plus 1 Deputy)	Agreed 1:2:0:0	Liz Patel Bernard Sharp Michael Whetton
				Deputy: Graham Whitham
16	Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust (MFT)	1	1:0:0:0	Chris Boyes
	Note: must not be a member of a local authority's scrutiny committee covering health matters	(3 year appointment)		(until September 2021)
17	Mersey Valley Joint Committee	4 (plus 4 named Deputies)	2:2:0:0 (Agreement between the groups)	 (i) Amy Whyte (ii) Mike Freeman (iii) Chris Boyes (iv) Rob Chilton
				Named Deputies (for the above
				(i) Joanne Bennett (ii) Denise Western (iii) Brian Shaw (iv) Dan Bunting
18	North West Reserve Forces and Cadets Association (NWRFCA)	1	1:0:0:0	Judith Lloyd
19	One Trafford Partnership Board	3	2:1:0:0	Stephen Adshead Andrew Western Brian Shaw
20	Parking and Traffic Regulations	1 (plus	1:0:0:0	Stephen Adshead
	Outside London (PATROL) Adjudication Joint Committee / Bus Lane Adjudication Service Joint Committee	1 Deputy)		Deputy: Mike Freeman
21	Pennine Care NHS Foundation Trust Council of Governors	1	1:0:0:0	Dylan Butt

Organisation		Number of Representatives		2018/19 Nominations	
			AB:CON:LD:GRN	Nominations	
				Councillor(s)	
22	Standing Advisory Council for Religious Education (SACRE)	7	4:2:1:0	Judith Lloyd Whit Stennett Laurence Walsh Denise Western Miss Linda Blackburn Bernard Sharp Ray Bowker	
23	Sale Town Centre Partnership	1	1:0:0:0	Barry Brotherton	
24	Sharon Youth Association Management Committee	2	2:0:0:0	Ejaz Malik Whit Stennett	
25	Stretford War Memorial Red Cross Public Nursing Services	1	1:0:0:0	Judith Lloyd	
26	Stockport, Trafford and Rochdale (STaR) Joint Committee	1 (plus 1 Substitute)	1:0:0:0 (Executive Member for Finance plus 1 Executive Member to be appointed as a Substitute)	Mike Cordingley Substitute: Catherine Hynes	
27	Teachers Joint Negotiating Committee (Schools)	4 To be appointed as per the JNC Constitution	3:1:0:0 (Executive Members for Education, Children's Social Services, Chair of the Employment Committee and the Shadow Member for Education)	Jane Baugh Mike Freeman Joanne Harding Brian Rigby	
28	Timperley Village Club - Management Committee	1 (plus 1 Non- Elected non- voting Member)	Agreed 0:0:1:0	Ray Bowker (Non-Elected Member – Mr. Andrew Iredale)	
29	Trafford Arts Association	2	2:0:0:0	Barry Brotherton Amy Whyte	
30	Trafford Safeguarding Children Board	2	2:0:0:0	Joanne Bennett Joanne Harding	
31	Trafford Community Leisure Trust	2	2:0:0:0	Kevin Procter Whit Stennett	
32	Trafford Housing Trust Customer Scrutiny Panel	1	1:0:0:0	Joanne Bennett	
33	Trafford Sports Council	2	2:0:0:0	Judith Lloyd Kevin Procter	
34	Trans-Pennine Trail	2	2:0:0:0	Mike Cordingley	

Organisation		Number of Representatives		2018/19 Nominations
			B:CON:LD:GRN	
				Councillor(s)
35	University of Manchester – General Assembly	1	1:0:0:0	Graham Whitham
	(3 year appointment)			(until June 2021)
36	Victim Support - Trafford (Management Committee)	1	1:0:0:0	Adele New
	<u>CHARITIES</u>			
37	The James Bradshaw Charity and the Bradshaw Educational and Richard Newton Foundations	3	2:1:0:0	Simon Thomas (until June 2021)
	(3 year appointment)			Laurence Walsh (until June 2021)
				Mrs. Maureen Pickering (until June 2020)
38	Mayor's Land Charity and New Town Night School Fund	3 (The Mayor, Deputy Mayor and Retiring Mayor)	2:1:0:0	Mayor: Tom Ross Deputy: Rob Chilton Retiring: Jonathan Coupe
39	Frances Del Panno Trust	As set out		The Mayor Chief Executive & Chief Finance Officer are ex-officio Trustees
40	Sale Educational Foundation Note: The Charity requests the appointment of Members living in Sale and representing Sale wards.	10 (Need not be Elected Members)	6:4:0:0	Jane Baugh Joanne Bennett Barry Brotherton Steven Longden Liz Patel Mike Freeman Chris Boyes John Holden Mrs. D. Carter Mrs. Collinson
	COMPANY DIRECTORSHIPS			
41	Trafford Bruntwood LLP	1	1:0:0:0	Andrew Western Corporate Director EGEI Corporate Director Resources Chris Oglesby Chris Roberts Kevin Crotty
42	Trafford ES LLP	1	1:0:0:0	Andrew Western Corporate Director EGEI Corporate Director Resources Michael Dwan Timothy Edghill John Connolly

Organisation		Number of Representatives		2018/19 Nominations	
		Required	LAB:CON:LD:GRN	Councillor(s	
43	Trafford Leisure Community Interest Company Limited Board of Directors	1	1:0:0:0	Kevin Procter Eamonn O'Rourke Daniel Gidney Paul Helsby Joanne Hyde Andrew Worthington Susan Aldridge Matthew Colledge	
44	Trafford Regeneration and Investment Limited	1 (plus Chief Executive)	1:0:0:0	Andrew Western Chief Executive	
45	Trafford Youth Trust CIC Board of Directors	2	2:0:0:0	Catherine Hynes Kevin Procter	

Note: Re 41 to 45

Note: Re 41 to 45 Where these are Directors' appointments it will be necessary for the current members to sign resignation forms and for new members to be appointed and the details need to be lodged at the Companies Registry.